the monk’s table

Last night I went to The Monk’s Table (1276 Yonge St.), a great little restaurant at Yonge and Summerhill that serves pub food. Pictured above: buffalo style shrimp with blue cheese dip. Since I do not eat chicken wings, I really appreciated this twist on the classic bar snack. The shrimp were deep fried and dipped in a spicy, tangy sauce. Everyone loved them.
Pictured below: mushroom mac and cheese. I am often disappointed with baked mac and cheese since the cheese is usually bland, and I am someone who likes my food bursting with flavour. I was not expecting big things from this dish, but due to a lack of meat-free options I decided to give it a try. I am SO glad I did. Bold, smoky cheese and a crispy top layer balanced the gooey texture of the noodles. I will definitely be going back to this low-key spot soon.

Leave a comment

Filed under foooood!

Leave a Reply

