berlin is magic

hey friends!

I am back from a brief European adventure! My digital camera died and I stupidly brought the wrong charger (I know. I am the worst blogger ever). So I had to rely on disposable cameras. However, (once the jet lag wears off) I will still be posting loads of inspiring stuff from my travels. For now I wanted to share something with you that is really special, and was definitely a highlight of the trip.

Bearpit Karaoke takes place every Sunday at the Mauerpark flea market in Berlin. The flea market itself is the best and biggest market I have ever been to, but more on that later. Thousands of Berliners and foreigners a-like gather around for a massive outdoor karaoke, sing-a-long, dance party, love fest. The project was initiated by Irish expat Joe Hatchiban about two years ago. No matter how awful the performances get (and they can be pretty bad) the crowd goes absolutely wild with applause. There is so much love and happiness in the air. It was truly one of the best days ever.

To top it all off, Mauerpark is located in the former death strip of the Berlin Wall. This is so indicative of Berlin’s attitude today. The city emulates an appreciation for life and freedom, while acknowledging their very dark past. I cannot wait to go back!

(Flea market stalls in the background).

Leave a comment

Filed under i want to live here, market find, music, totally brill

Leave a Reply

