hometown tourism

So I’ve got about 7 days before I leave Toronto to start school in New York, and I’ve decided to spend the time as a tourist in my own city. Yesterday I ventured to Parkdale to check out some vintage shops and eat some food.

Have you ever been to Ravi Soup?! I had the Porcini Mushroom with Wild Rice Bisque. It was SO delicious. Just the right amount of truffle oil. My tourist companion Lily (of Lekker Ding Blog) had the special of the day, which was butternut squash with ginger and pear. I’ve had many bowls of butternut squash soup in my day, but I’ve never tasted one quite like this. The pear and ginger added a refreshing lightness to the creamy broth. At Ravi, each bowl of soup comes with a homemade cheddar scone and some red pepper jelly on the side. It’s like they read my mind. This place is really too good to be true.

Lily enjoying her soup on a cold winter's day.

Next we headed west to vintage store Public Butter where I snagged these two beauties:

Fuchsia cashmere sweater $10.00 (was $20.00 but I bargained because of a slight hole on the left shoulder seam)

Plaid dress $15.00

Next stop, Common Sort Thrift Store. We were drawn into the shop by a beautifully curated wall displaying articles of clothing in varying shades of blue as well as the mannequins dressed in grandmother/grandfather chic apparel.

 It was difficult to narrow it down but in the end I chose this awesome sparkly green pencil skirt, which I just love.

1 Comment

Filed under fashion, foooood!, market find

One response to “hometown tourism

  1. loving that emerald (?) skirt…….. gorgeous !

Leave a Reply

